Liquid Ink

The official website of Gint Aras, Finalist 2016 CWA Book Award


Reading from Ghetto Blueblood

In January, I had the pleasure of reading at Waterline Writers, among the most welcoming communities for writers. The venue at Water Street Studios is worth visiting on its own.

Fans of The Fugue and Finding the Moon in Sugar might be curious to know what I’m working on now. This reading offers a sneak preview. This excerpt comes from a recently completed manuscript, titled Ghetto Blueblood, which I’m currently shopping.

Yes…my beard was shaved. My kids had lice, so I sliced it all off as a precaution.

Enjoy. If you’re an industry professional who stumbled on this and became interested, please contact me.

221661_114148042004311_7591116_n

 


Leave a comment

White privilege and unintended ironies

This week’s True Community is a response to the culture that makes an article like Tal Fortgang’s possible. If you haven’t heard, a young Princeton student had an article picked up by Time Magazine. In it, he refuses to apologize for his white privilege, stumbling backwards through unintended and deeply unfortunate ironies. They reveal a lot about how elites perceive themselves.

I take a look at this problem from the perspective of a community college teacher who only teaches the underclasses. And I find many similarities between the Princeton kid and the community college kid.

Hope you’ll check it out. And please do share.